The Site
News Index
Search The Site
About The Site
The Season
Fixtures & Results
League Table
Player Profiles
06/07 Photo Gallery
The Club
Archive 92/93 to 17/18
Match Database
Away Fans Guide
The Terraces
E-mail List
Fun & Games
Daggers Dictionary

 The Poll

Daggers change of ownership: should we...

Stay as we are (Members Club)
Go with the East Consortium
Go with the Tamplin Consortium
Look for another solution

View Current Standings


"Golden Goal"
Either (1) a small piece of paper bought by many near the turnstiles resulting in Alan getting 50, or (2) having your heart ripped out through your throat, then having 500 drunk Yorkshiremen taking the piss about it.




Next Match

26 March 2019
Dover Athletic
Vanarama National League 

Last Match

12 March 2019
Havant & Waterlooville
Vanarama National League 
Lost 0-3

     On This Day

In 1993,The Daggers lost 1-2 to Wycombe Wanderers at Home in the GM Vauxhall Conference 

In 1996,The Daggers lost 0-1 to Bath City at Home in the GM Vauxhall Conference 

In 2000,The Daggers beat Basingstoke Town 1-0 at Home in the Ryman League Premier 

In 2001,The Daggers beat Morecambe 3-2 at Home in the Nationwide Conference 

In 2005,The Daggers lost 0-1 to Stevenage Borough Away in the Nationwide Conference 

In 2006,The Daggers beat Forest Green Rovers 3-0  Away in the Nationwide Conference 

In 2014,The Daggers drew 0-0 with Accrington Stanley at Home in the Sky Bet League Two 

In 2017,The Daggers beat York City 1-0 at Home in the Vanarama National League 



Scored the second

Nervy Daggers Defeat Shots
by Nelson on 07/04/2007

The Daggers win a hard-fought match against Aldershot to seal the Conference title.

Dagenham & Redbridge

Aldershot Town

Benson 12
Rainford 60 (pen)

Dixon 66

Nationwide Conference
Victoria Road
Saturday 7th April 2007
Nervy Daggers Defeat Shots
The Daggers today won a hard-fought match against Play-Off hopefulls, Aldershot town in front of a packed Victoria Road.

The win was enough to ensure that the Daggers are crowned Nationwide Conference Champions 2006/07 and start next season as a Football League Club.

The hosts started the game brightly and looked the more threatening in the early exchanges.  It came as little surprise when, on 12 minutes, Paul Benson (left) headed home his twenty-sixth goal of the season from a great cross from the left by Sam Sloma.

Shortly after this, Benson did well to hold up the ball and laid it back for Sam Saunders, but Saunders was unable to keep his shot down.

The visitors then started to come more into the match and had a few chances of their own but were unable to capitalise and the teams went in at half-time with the Daggers just about deserving of their single goal advantage.

There was a big cheer at half-time when Brownie announced that Oxford were losing and Morecambe were only drawing.

The second half started much as the first half had with the Daggers doubling their tally 15 minutes into the half.  Rhys Day was adjudged to have fouled Ben Strevens (right) in the area and Dave Rainford made no mistake in blasting his penalty into the bottom left corner of the goal.

The goal seemed to do more harm than good for the hosts though.  It was as though the team let out a "oh well, that's that then" sigh and took their mind off the game somewhat.  The visitors came more and more into the match and some sloppy defending from corners led to the Shots getting a goal back when Jonny Dixon headed into Tony Roberts' goal.

Some very nervy play from the Daggers almost let the visitors get back on level terms, but the Daggers weathered the storm and the final whistle brought scenes of jubilation around Victoria Road.




1 Tony Roberts (GK)
19 Danny Foster
15 Anwar Uddin
25 Mark Arber
12 Scott Griffiths
7 Sam Saunders (off 88 mins)
8 Glen Southam (off 81 mins)
11 Dave Rainford
3 Sam Sloma (off 70 mins)
14 Paul Benson
18 Ben Strevens


30 Nicky Eyre (GK)
23 Chris Moore (on 81 mins)
6 Jake Leberl (on 70 mins)
10 Paolo Vernazza (on 88 mins)
26 Jamie Taylor

1 Nicky Bull
2 Dean Smith
5 Rhys Day
23 Anthony Charles
3 Darren Barnard
12 Louie Soares (off 61 mins)
4 Ricky Newman
7 Mark Molesley (off 88 mins)
11 Ryan Williams
36 Jonny Dixon
8 John Grant


22 Louis Wells (GK)
17 Kirk Hudson (on 61 mins)
27 Karl Beckford (on 88 mins)
19 David Winfield (on 74 mins)
16 Mark Pritchard

Referee: P Gibbs
Attendance: 4,044

DiggerDagger's Man Of The Match

Dave Rainford

Never Gave Up Running All Game

 is an independent website and the views expressed are not necessarily those of Dagenham & Redbridge Football Club